Julianne Duffy

Julianne was the chair of the previous Pennine View Governing Body and will chair the local governing body when it comes together in the autumn term. Julianne has served on the Pennine View governing body for a number of years and has a strong affinity and history with the school, its children and its staff.

Kerry Martin

Kerry is married with three sons.   Her two youngest boys have special needs and have attended Pennine View since 2010.  Now the boys are settled, their confidence has grown immensely, and it has made a huge difference to family life.  The school has had such an impact on both boys lives that she wants to give something back.

Kerry was previously a governor and vice chair for DMBC. This has given her experience and knowledge about governance on many levels.
Kerry is pragmatic in her approach, and is looking forward to new challenges.

John Coleman

John is a member of the Nexus Board of Directors and provides a link between the Board and the Local Governing Body. John has been a teacher, educational psychologist and advisor in all sectors of the education service, and has significant senior management experience at local authority, regional and national levels. With nearly forty years’ experience within the education service he has a breadth and depth of knowledge to draw upon to help support and inspire positive change.

Sarah Mulhall

Sarah become the headteacher of Pennine View School on the 1st September 2017. Sarah was previously the Senior Deputy Headteacher of Kelford School and brings a wealth of knowledge and experience to the work of the Intervention Board.


Chris Rowse

I was a teacher for 38 years working in a number of large Comprehensive Schools teaching Ceramics. I was Head of Department for many years before leaving Mainstream Education  and moving to Special Education. I have experience of working with young people with Severe Learning Difficulties and Autism. I have recently retired and I am very pleased  to be a part of Pennine View School.

Elise Bowen

My name is Elise Bowen and I am currently a teacher at Pennine view School and have been for the past 3 years. I originally worked at Pennine View as a teaching assistant from 2009-2011 and I was inspired to pursue a career in teaching. I worked in main stream education for 3 years but found myself longing to work back in a special educational needs setting. So… here I am back where I belong with my passion as fuelled as ever fulfilling my new role as a Teacher Governor.

Carol Lawrie

My name is Carol I am a parent governor I have one child at Pennine View. I have worked, fostered and have children with varying learning disabilities. However I am passionate about education and believe all children and young adults have a right to expect a high quality of education regardless of their disability. As a governor I feel that I can represent parents as I understand how difficult and at times challenging it is to have a child with complex needs.


Naveen Judah

I am Naveen Judah and I am the father of a 17-year-old with SLD at Hilltop school. I have extensive experience in senior mgt. especially finance in the private, public and 3rd sectors.  My aim is to help Nexus academies achieve their vision without diluting their core values.


Alan Jones

Alan Jones – retired South Yorks Police Officer and prior to retirement was the elected national chairman of the Police Inspectors Federation of England and Wales.  Although I have no previous experience in school education or working with children, my recent background has focused on improving professional development, skills competency, workplace assessment and decision making within policing.  My contribution as governor will be to listen and learn, to ask questions as appropriate, be supportive of the schools progress, development and values and in whatever way possible encourage everyone at Pennine to maximise their real potential.  I am married with 2 grown up daughters and one young grandson.

Warren Carratt

Warren is the Chief Executive Officer of Nexus MAT and is the individual accountable to the Government for the quality of provision at the school. Warren is also a named Director of the Trust and is an experienced senior leader and manager, having worked across the public sector locally and nationally in education, local government and the NHS.

The local Governing Body at Pennine View School

As an academy, the Local Governing Body of Pennine View School has delegated powers from the Nexus Multi Academy Trust Board of Directors, which are outlined in the Trust’s Scheme of Delegation.

The Trust Chief Executive Officer and Chief Finance Officer act as advisors to the Local Governing Body, and attend most meetings

The Governing Body was constituted in Autumn 2017 and the following structure of Governance is now in place:

  • Head Teacher
  • No more than 2 Parent Governors
  • No more than 2 Staff Governors
  • At least 3 Associate Governors

MINIMUM TOTAL = 7 GOVERNORS (inc 3 members of staff)

Pennine View Local Governing Body

Ms. Julianne Duffy (Chair of Governors)
Mrs. Kerry Martin (Vice Chair of Governors)
Mrs. Carol Lawrie (Parent)
Mr. Alan Jones
Mr. Chris Rowse
Mrs. Wendy Machin
Mr Naveen Judah
Miss. Elise Bowen (Staff)
Ms. Sarah Mulhall (Headteacher)
Clerk – Diane Hyner

The Local Governing Body meets at least once a half term, with additional meetings being arranged as required.

Please read and download the latest minutes from the governor meetings from here

How can I contact the school governors? The governors can be contacted via the Clerk to Governors c/o Pennine View School, Old Road, Conisbrough, South Yorkshire, DN12 3LR, or email clerk2@NexusMAT.org

How are governors chosen? There are different categories of Governors: Parent Governors, Staff Governors, and Associate Governors.